Arkansas Receives Colborn Award

On July 27, 2008, Administrative Codes and Registers (ACR) recognized the work of the Arkansas Secretary of State’s Office and Jon Davidson for their work to make Arkansas rules accessible.

Jon Davidson (AR, left) receives Colborn Award from Dennis Stevenson (ID, right).

Jon Davidson (AR, left) receives Colborn Award from Dennis Stevenson (ID, right).

Jon Davidson (AR; left) receives the Colborn award from Dennis Stevenson (ID; Colborn Committee Chair; right).

Of Arkansas’ and Mr. Davidson’s efforts, Mr. Stevenson observed:

The Arkansas Register is a bit of a Cinderella story and, while technically this system is not as elaborate or complex as many we’ve seen in other states, the fact that Jon was dedicated to elevating the Arkansas Register to its proper place in the hierarchy of Arkansas state government documents reflects not only why ACR created the Robert J. Colborn, Jr. Innovation Award, but goes to the very core of what ACR is and why it exists. What has happened with the Arkansas Register is a great example of a rising ACR ocean lifting all boats.

As [the awards] committee, we recognized that for each state that has a state of the art electronic system, there is another state where the Code and Register editors are still in the trenches fighting to make its own government understand the importance of its administrative rules and the difference they make in people’s lives. The Arkansas Register has shown the importance of making a state’s rules and policies available to the public and that open government always makes for better government.

More information is available from the AR Secretary of State’s Office, and from ACR’s web site.


Comments Off on Arkansas Receives Colborn Award

Filed under Colborn Award

Comments are closed.